In support of the IEDP objectives to set standards and promote excellence in the profession, the Institute has now established an accreditation scheme which is available to members. Unlike any other, it accredits experience and expertise and is not tied to any specific training or qualification.

IEDP accreditation is available at two levels to suit practitioners with different experience and expertise. We call these levels Professional Certification and Professional Registration.

Click here to download the latest version of our leaflet about IEDP accreditation: Accreditation leaflet 2016

The principle of the IEDP accreditation scheme is to establish the competence of professionals by assessing and accrediting evidence from work-based experience, knowledge and expertise. Evidence is required in relation to competence descriptors in four different domains:

Domain 1: Theory and principles underpinning equality, diversity and human rights

Domain 2: Legal and compliance framework

Domain 3: Personal behaviours

Domain 4: Influence, impact and making a difference

Applicants are required to submit the following for both levels:

  • A completed Domain 2 (Legal and Compliance) Test (there are different tests for Professional Certification and Professional Registration)
  • A submission document explaining how their evidence relates to the four domains
  • A portfolio of supporting evidence
  • A record of their Continuing Professional Development over the past three years
  • A signed IEDP Code of Professional Conduct (anyone who is already a member should already have provided this)
  • Contact details of two people from whom feedback may be sought about their work

There are two levels of assessment, Professional Certification and Professional Registration, as described above. For further details click on the following links:


© 2022, All content and images are the property of IEDP.